Final scene of Rooster

Rate this topic

Guest queequeg914

Guest queequeg914

So we get the "new" Old Man unwrapping the piece of the True Cross- who wrote the note? Since Peter initiated the killing of Axmann, I would assume he also recovered the cross from the office. Why would he feel as though he was like "the romans casting lots for the robes of Christ"? Theologically speaking, those were men who knew nothing of Christ or His importance- to them, he was merely another Jewish criminal-but any group member would know exactly how important the True Cross was, whether they were an Owl or a Rooster. Did the note-writer mean that they weren't taking it seriously enough or that they didn't know what they really had? One of the reasons I'm so intrigued by Millennium is the array of theological references- I have a (fairly useless) degree in Biblical Theology and I'm finding a lot to think about. I've gone through old threads on the Owls/Roosters, and haven't found a ton of discussion on this scene- I might not be looking in the right places- if so, I apologize!

Hi Quee (hope you don't mind a nick-name),

I think you might be reading a little too much into the significance of the note which is understandable as some aspects of Millennium were designed to be ambiguous with certain elements remaining deliberately unexplained. There are occasions where it is clear that a trail of clues has been woven into the narrative in order to explain some of the tacit elements of it and there occasions when we will never know the answer. Of course it seems logical that Peter delivered the cross and the note to the Old Man since we see him with it moments before, I guess it doesn't take a vast amount of deduction to reach the obvious conclusion.