The Real Reason Why We Haven't Been Back To The Moon

Rate this topic

Earthnut

I've seen a great many documentaries around moon conspiracies and the moon landing 'hoax' in particular and they make incredible claims but claims that seem to have some foundation in truth if the evidence is to be believed. The Van Allen radiation belt alone is a reason to suspect that people didn't make the journey at all. It's one if the few conspiracy theories I have some slight belief in.

Of course, there are aliens on the moon as well which doesn't help. :notworthy:

Eth

• 4 weeks later...

Hi, everyone. This is my first post. As a scientist I am willing to entertain any notion. However, I honestly believe that cost is a major factor. Currently, the cost of a mission is about $200K/lb. Manned lunar missions are extremely expensive due to the high mass involved.

If anything will get us back to the moon (and near by asteroids) it will be the continuing shortage in precious metals. This may be enough to raise mission profit over mission cost. Furthermore, we need to find a balance between engines that are both fuel efficient and provide moderate thrust.

Oh, I almost forgot: the space faring nations currently have high-risk aversion. People are going to die in space(sometimes in a really nasty and painful manner). At this time it seems we do not have the political or social will to accept this.

• Like 1

First of all, welcome to the group Transhuman... Hope we see a lot of you here.

Your post reminded me of a quote I heard in a Outer Limits episode:

Mankind will forever be doomed if it continues to ask for the truth, and then refuse to listen. (Outer Limits)

• Elders (Admins)

Hi, everyone. This is my first post. As a scientist I am willing to entertain any notion. However, I honestly believe that cost is a major factor. Currently, the cost of a mission is about $200K/lb. Manned lunar missions are extremely expensive due to the high mass involved.