301 Human Essence

Rate this topic

Libby

• Elders (Moderators)

Please bear with me, dear reader, for I have little experience of reviewing anything, let alone episodes of Millennium, so what I have written may well seem to those more experienced at this sort of thing as being simplistic, naive, whatever. But, hey, this wasn't an assignment so I haven't aimed to impress the more professorial types. The reason for putting down my thoughts about this episode was really as a way of avoiding putting down my thoughts for "Through A Glass, Darkly" which affected me much more than "Human Essence". I'm an expert when it comes to avoidance techniques...

Anyway, here are my thoughts:

My review of 309 Human Essence:

I really don’t like it when characters’ personal lives are too much the focus of a story, when that aspect isn’t part of the overall theme of the show. Certainly the involvement of Franks’s family is a significant part of the show and so stories that revolve around Frank, Catherine and Jordan are in keeping with the basic premise of the show. But to suddenly introduce an aspect of Emma’s family life jarred somewhat. OK, I realise now that that was a good way of getting Frank and Emma (and the others) into the story, and enabled Emma to be spotlighted in the way she was, but how necessary was this way? Well, I suppose it moved the overall theme onwards by pointing to the different approach of Frank versus Baldwin and maybe the show at this point needs for Emma to have evolved from being an assistant to the “renegade” Frank to being one of the main players. If that was the main point of this episode then I guess it did the job well enough. I just think it’s a pity that if this was the point where Emma made that transition, it had to be because of her emotions rather than because of the nature of the job she is doing.